Life is Fragile


What is the difference between life and death? How much warning does the average person have of impending death?

Yesterday afternoon, I stopped at our church building to set mouse traps. I noticed a strange car in our parking lot. One of the church’s neighbors hailed me and asked me what I thought of the car.

The car sat there locked with the motor running. A single occupant who appeared to be asleep with his chin on his chest sat in the driver’s seat. Knocking on the window and rocking the car did not bring any response. The neighbor had observed the car there since 8:15 AM.

I called 911 and stayed on scene representing the church because the car was in our parking lot. It turns out the man was dead. In the process of the deputy medical examiner examining the body, the deputy sheriff opened the man’s wallet and read the information to the deputy medical examiner. The man was 72, a few months younger than me. This fact caught my attention. I could have been the man in the car. He had a heart condition. The car was in gear, and his foot was on the brake. It appeared that one of his last conscious actions was to bring the car to a stop.

This reminded me how fragile life is. Within a few minutes or seconds, he had gone with little warning from being someone’s jolly grandfather to being dead.

Regardless of what faith we hold, this should be a reminder that our life is but a vapor that can disappear in a moment leaving us in the hands of what ever deity we hold dear. We would do well to be prepared at all times to find ourselves in front of our God. Did the man I found have any time to make amends for anything he did wrong? He may not even have had time to say much of a prayer.

I pray for comfort for his family because his was a very sudden departure for which they were not prepared.

Because I am a Christian, my wish is that everyone have a personal relationship with Jesus, the type of relationship which assures a person entry into heaven. Some Christian denominations call such a relationship being born again. Others call it being saved. This means the person has repented of his sin and asked Jesus to be his or her Lord and Savior. In turn, Jesus helps the person through life and helps them avoid future sin. I can testify, that my life has been richer since I was born again, and the Bible tells me I am assured of entry into heaven.

I am thankful that I was not the man in the car, but I am assured that had I died, I would be in heaven rejoicing in Jesus’ presence.

Your faith and your concept of God may differ from mine, but I urge you to be close to your god so that at death you will not be embarrassed to stand before what ever eternal judge you believe will determine your place in eternity.

I am ready to meet Jesus when I die. Are you ready to face death?

*****

Reynold is an author who writes from a Christian point of view. Visit Reynold’s website at ReynoldConger.com. You may comment on this blog, or if you wish a private contact, you may e-mail him, using the contact page on his web site.

About Reynold Conger

Reynold Conger is a retired scientist, engineer and teacher. Now writing fiction. His books are CHASED ACROSS AUSTRALIA, MY KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOR and REDUCING MEDICAL COSTS (AT THE COST OF HEALTH). He has also started a series of novelas called THE RICHARD TRACY SERIES. Residence: New Mexico, USA Hobbies: gardening, animals and running. website www.ReynoldConger.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

