I am Thankful


We have much to be thankful for, because God spoils us. Sure, we often owe our abundance to people and organizations, but mostly God is the source of our blessings. Even those people and orginizations who supply us with things, ultimately owe their ability to provide to God’s providence.

As Americans, most of us live in warm houses. Relatively few of us go hungry. Most of us have more clothes than we can wear.

We also live in a free country. We have a right to grumble that various politicians at the federal, state and local levels are compromising that freedom, but we retain the basic freedoms. Freedom of speech and freedom to worship according to our beliefs are the two most important freedoms. We must strive to retain these freedoms.

This year, my wife and are thankful for our relatively good health. We are 72 and still active. Yes, we have our aches and pains, but my wife walks regularly and I run three days a week. We garden and do a lot of other activities.

In terms of health, I am most thankful for successful cataract surgery. I have always been strongly nearsighted so that even with correction, I did not see particularly well except within 4 inches of my eyes. For the past two years, my vision has been dimming gradually. Then this summer I lost my night vision and even had some blurring of my day vision. I had my surgeries in late October. There are some temporary discomforts related to the surgery, but by now, all of the temporary problems are resolved.

Not only am I thankful for full light back in my eyes, but I am particularly thankful for the advances in cataract surgery. In the early part of the 20th century, cataract surgery consisted of using an instrument similar to a darning needle to displace the clouded lens. The result was that the patient was then dependent of very strong glasses to see. We used to call them “Coke bottle bottom glasses”. Now, the surgeon uses an ultrasonic probe to shatter the lens and a tiny vacuum cleaner to remove the fragments. The old lens is then replaced by a plastic lens. This lens is custom made to accommodate for the patient’s eye problems.

Praise the Lord. For the first time in my life, I can see distant objects clearly. I can even see my feet, but any thing closer than 5 feet is a blur.

At my age, we have all gone far sighted, and we all expect to use reading glasses, bifocals or trifocals. Next Monday, I go in to have my vision measured. I expect to be given glasses to sharpen up my vision for driving, but for other everyday distance activities, I have been freed from glasses.

Since the surgery on my second eye, I have been using a pair of “dime store” reading glasses. At least I can see to read, but I expect the doctor will prescribe something a little better fitted to my close vision needs.

The Lord takes so very good care of me. In fact, He spoils me. I give Him thanks.

About Reynold Conger

Reynold Conger is a retired scientist, engineer and teacher. Now writing fiction. His books are CHASED ACROSS AUSTRALIA, MY KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOR and REDUCING MEDICAL COSTS (AT THE COST OF HEALTH). He has also started a series of novelas called THE RICHARD TRACY SERIES. Residence: New Mexico, USA Hobbies: gardening, animals and running. website www.ReynoldConger.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

