The Joy and Frustrations of YOUTUBE


I have heard from a reliable source that PBS television stations store material on YouTube. No wonder so many people distribute their vieos on YouTube.

My editor has suggeted that all of her authors should make trailers for their book, so I launched into creating a trailer forhttp://kellanpublishing.3dcartstores.com/Reducing-Medical-Costs_p_41.html Sounds difficult. Sounds expensive.

Fortunately, I have a neighbor who recently retired from being chief engineer for our local BPS TV station. He knows video and TV and has an entire house of high grade equipment that he calls his toys. I wrote a script and the two of us spent a morning shooting a trailer. It was a lot of fun. He has had announcer’s training, so I had him read part of the script. His voice contrasts nicely with mine.

Once the video was finished I had to post it somewhere. I was directed to post on Youtube.com. Unfortunately I did not have a clue how to do this.

I read a few instructional websites about posting on Youtube. The first thing I encountered is that the dictators at Google, would like everyone  posting on Youtube to have a g-mail account. This does not make many people happy, and I really do not need another e-mail account. One of the first things I learned is that one can skip the g-mail by registering with Google and then logging on and giving the e-mail address of your choice.

The next challenge is the format to use.  Youtube has provisions for converting a variety of formats into the feed the require, but that requires time and work. Fortunately, my friend is on top of this. He gave me the video in MP4 format which is one of a few that Youtube will accept directly.

All went well, except that it took over 4 hours to load. After all, my friend shoots in high definition. It is a huge file. While it loaded, I had plenty of time to enter the extra information they request. When it was finished, I clicked the “publish” button. I had more information to enter. Then it simply sat there saying, “you information is being saved.)

After a long wait, I tried to log out and was told I might lose information. I waited another 15 minutes with the same results, so I opened another browser and tried to open my Youtube video. It did, so I closed down.

I am asking each of you a favor. I have linked to that video and would like each of you to test the link. Please click on this Youtube video link.

If you have troubles getting to see my trailer, please inform me by commenting.

Thank you.  Reynold

Reynold has a webpage, ReynoldConger.com. Please visit it.

Reynold is the author of:

                Chased Across Australia

                My Knight in Shining Armor

                Love Unrecognized

                A Dangerous Bike Ride

               Reducing Health Costs (At the Cost of Health)

About Reynold Conger

Reynold Conger is a retired scientist, engineer and teacher. Now writing fiction. His books are CHASED ACROSS AUSTRALIA, MY KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOR and REDUCING MEDICAL COSTS (AT THE COST OF HEALTH). He has also started a series of novelas called THE RICHARD TRACY SERIES. Residence: New Mexico, USA Hobbies: gardening, animals and running. website www.ReynoldConger.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

