Addicted to Technology


I have been without my computer for almost three weeks. Obviously I became addicted to “technology”. Until I picked up the computer from my repairman this morning, I was within withdrawal.

Now you must understand that I am a 68 year old former geek. Though my interest and career were in chemistry, I thought I was only a few steps behind the cutting edge of computer technology when I took a Fortran course in 1960. Of course, then a whole room of equipment did not have the same performance as my laptop. Since then, most of my efforts went into chemistry, engineering and teaching. It was not long before my daughter (a computer consultant) and even my high school students have had to advise me how to operate the computer. Now I am only marginally more computer literate than the average citizen.

Also consider that one of the original used of the digital computer occurred shortly after my birth when the Navy set up a large, but slow computer to calculate artillery firing tables. Computers did not even begin to come into wide use until the 1950s. Cars ran without computers. There was no net. All phone calls were made on land lines until the 1990s. The world ran with little technology (as computer based applications have become to be know). While my wife and I enjoy our computer, the internet and e-mail, we thought those were simply refinements to life.

Almost three weeks ago, my motherboard died. Due to supplier problems and the delivery of a defective replacement, it was not until yesterday that my repairman got a working motherboard. In the mean time, my wife and I realized that, without e-mail, we were partially isolated from family and friends. We discovered we could not even check the weather forecast without the internet. Worst of all was that my manuscripts were all locked safely in a hard drive on the disabled computer. I have been trying to revise my next book and have sat in idle frustration.

Yes, three weeks ago, I was thankful for my computer and the internet, but I thought I would be able to get along without “technology” even if it were do disappear. I was wrong. I may not be a young geek with all of the gadgets, but I find myself as dependent on “technology” as anyone.

Now that I am back in the loop, I can continue this blog and my writing. In fact, this experience may show up in a future fiction manuscript. The next installment of Life on the Left Side of the Fast Lane will be down loaded shortly.

In the meantime, you may wish to visit, my website or the website dedicated to my book, Chased Across Australia.

About Reynold Conger

Reynold Conger is a retired scientist, engineer and teacher. Now writing fiction. His books are CHASED ACROSS AUSTRALIA, MY KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOR and REDUCING MEDICAL COSTS (AT THE COST OF HEALTH). He has also started a series of novelas called THE RICHARD TRACY SERIES. Residence: New Mexico, USA Hobbies: gardening, animals and running. website www.ReynoldConger.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

