Announcing The Publication of my Book


Five years ago, I got an idea for a thriller.  I have made eight major revisions and countless editorial passes.  Various versions of the story have been pitched to a number of literary agents and publishers.  Perhaps I am impulsive or simply foolhardy, but after prayer and consideration, I began exploring self publishing options.  I have driven the sales representatives of several self publishing companies crazy by my reluctance to make a quick commitment.   I eventually found a company and a package that I like at a good price.

Chased Across Australia is in production.  The anticipated release date is late October 2011.  It will be available both in paperback and hard cover thanks to print on demand technology.  I am building a website, congerbooks.info, to market books.  Of course the book will also be available through bookstores.

Chased Across Australia is a thriller written from a Christian perspective.  By this, I mean that some of the characters are Christians and live a Christian world view.  Thus the use of profanity is minimized according to the philosophy  I expressed earlier about gratuitous profanity.  Nevertheless, the hero, heroin and villains undergo real threats to their safety exactly the way we love thrillers to play out.

American tourists are being chased across Australia by terrorists because their laptop contains files the terrorists need for a bomb plot in Sydney. Of course the Americans think the laptop contains only photos and personal documents. The terrorists try stalking, burglary, seduction, blackmail, ambush and a high speed car chase without success. Are the Americans very lucky, or are they under divine protection?

Eventually two of the terrorists follow the Americans into a Christian church.  Suddenly roles are reversed as the terrorists find themselves in spiritual danger.

This is the story that was inspired by the trip my wife and I took to Australia to celebrate our 40th anniversary.  In December, I wrote a post about how a trip inspired this book.  In January I wrote a post about how I employed the Australian dialect in the story.  I followed this with a post with a list of Australian Words.

I had fun writing Chased Across Australia.  Now I will find out how much fun it is to market a book on the retail market.  There will be a more formal announcement at a later date.  That announcement will contain more specific information.

About Reynold Conger

Reynold Conger is a retired scientist, engineer and teacher. Now writing fiction. His books are CHASED ACROSS AUSTRALIA, MY KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOR and REDUCING MEDICAL COSTS (AT THE COST OF HEALTH). He has also started a series of novelas called THE RICHARD TRACY SERIES. Residence: New Mexico, USA Hobbies: gardening, animals and running. website www.ReynoldConger.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

