Merry Christmas


Yes, I know it is politically incorrect to use any winter holiday salutation other than, “Happy holidays,” but I want to wish you joy in a specific holiday season. Thus Merry Christmas.

For those of you who may be unfamiliar with the culture of a Christian community, let me explain that Christmas is the Christian celebration of the birth of Jesus the Christ. Jesus is God who came to Earth in the form of a child. He came to live among men and woman as a human so that we can better relate to him and bears the name Emanuel or God With Us. 33 years later he died in our place to bear our sin, but that is a story to be told at Easter. What is important at Christmas is that we recognize Jesus as the Messiah. We accept the birth of Jesus as a gift from God, which is probably why we began giving gifts.

Simultaneously a secular Christmas celebration has evolved complete with Santa Clause, Frosty the Snow Man and other things that have nothing to do with Jesus. Many Christians think that this secular celebration has become over commercialized. Nevertheless, most Christians enjoy the secular celebration as they simultaneously celebrate the religious Christmas.

When I wish you a Merry Christmas, I wish you to understand the arrival of the Christ Child and receive the spiritual blessings of the season, but I understand that you may not believe in Jesus. If so, I am not trying to force Christianity on you, but simply wish you may enjoy the secular celebration of the season.

I am not adverse to wishing my Jewish friends a Happy Hanukkah. If Ramadan were to occur in December (as it does some years), I would wish my Muslim friends a Happy Ramadan.

Twice I made visits to Indonesia during Ramadan. My Muslim friends greeted me with Happy Ramadan. While I do not believe in Islam nor have I ever joined in their fasts or feasts, I accepted their salutation in good faith. I was not offended. I accepted the good wishes they intended to convey in the spirit of the way the salutation was offered.

Peace and good will to all, and to all a Merry Christmas.

Reynold

Note:  Christ points out in her comment that the use of Merry Xmas is discouraged by many.  The reason being that Christ is being replaced by an X.  The other side of the story is that in Latin the word Christ starts with the letter chi, which looks exactly like an English X.  Thus in the middle ages, many people used the Latin letter chi or an X as an abbreviation for Christ.  Thus some people have no objection to the substitution of an X for Christ.  Personally, I prefer to spell out the entire Merry Christmas, but those who use Xmas in good faith should not be criticized.

COMING SOON

So that we can all have some fun, I will be starting a serial soon. This almost forgotten form of story telling is fun to write and fun to read.

About Reynold Conger

Reynold Conger is a retired scientist, engineer and teacher. Now writing fiction. His books are CHASED ACROSS AUSTRALIA, MY KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOR and REDUCING MEDICAL COSTS (AT THE COST OF HEALTH). He has also started a series of novelas called THE RICHARD TRACY SERIES. Residence: New Mexico, USA Hobbies: gardening, animals and running. website www.ReynoldConger.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Merry Christmas

  1. Well Reynold – a Merry Christmas to you too!

  2. Chris C. (Dreamer) says:

    Reynold,
    Although, I consider myself to be Christian, like yourself I also recognise that others may not share my beliefs, and may belong to other denominations or be non-believers (e.g. my husband, Geoff proudly announces that he is Atheist even though, he loves Christmas time with the children, old churches and crucifixes).
    Whilst I also agree that I do not force my oppinions or beliefs onto others…I am going to make an exception and share one sentiment.
    Previously my daughter attended a church school & I was helping her to write her Christmas cards. For quickness I suggested writing ‘Merry Xmas’. “Oh no Mom” she countered, “you are crossing out Christ!”
    Therefore, Reynold may I sincerely wish you & your visitors-a Merry Christmas,
    Chris C.

  3. Chris C. (Dreamer) says:

    Reynold,
    I agree whole heartedly with the note linked to my response, & respect the use of any salutation in the spirit it was intended.
    I never believe we are too old to learn new ideas, & would never dismiss other ideas or beliefs or be critical of them.-E.G. I have been Christened & Confirmed at a CofE church, baptised at a Baptist Church but the church school my children attended was Catholic.
    My daughter had learned the concept about Christ at the church school she had attended, and it was her interpretation of the term.-Kids tend to ‘say the funniest things’ without any ill intent, & I love to share their quirks of speech with no intention of influencing others.
    Chris C.
    P.S. I do not profess to be Christ but Chris.

Leave a Reply

