Hello world!


I am Reynold Conger. I write fiction from a Christian perspective.  Writing is a hobby that I wish to turn into a retirement career.  Why do I write?  I write to have fun.

My background is BS and MS degrees in chemistry and a 30 career in the pulp and paper industry as a scientist, engineer, supervisor and consultant. The pulp and paper industry is a uniquely interesting heavy industry that is strongly linked to the environment and the global economy. I was drawn to it because most pulp and paper facilities are in rural areas. Many are located in the forests.

Near the end of my career, I worked for an international consulting company. My territory was the western hemisphere plus eastern Asia. When the parent companies shut down the consulting company, I took the clients I served and became an independent consultant. I eventually set foot on every continent except Antarctica. There are no paper mills in Antarctica. This widened my experience and perspective.

Just before the turn of the century, the Thai Baht crashed bringing down the Asian economies. South America followed, and even many US companies were impacted. My clients could no longer afford a consultant. By then I had moved to New Mexico. School teachers are in demand, so I began teaching science and math in local high schools.

For those with the gift, teaching is fun, rewarding, tiring and stressful. Though I enjoyed my 8 year career as a teacher, I was ready to retire in the spring of 2009.

So how did a technocrat like me become a writer? I have always enjoyed “spinning yarns” Life’s experiences constantly inspire stories. I have written fiction as a hobby for many years. In fact, while traveling internationally on business, I frequently would write fiction to entertain myself in locations where TV is not easily available in a language I can understand.  I still write for fun, but I would like to publish some of my work as a way of sharing with others. Yeah, it would be nice to get paid, too.

I was raised in a Christian home and have been a practicing Christian since age 14. Jesus has been my constant companion since then guiding and blessing me through life.

These days it seems popular for writers to either be critical of Christianity or, at best, to ignore Christianity and many other religions. To the typical literary character, Sunday is just another day, there are no morals or ethics, there is no deity influencing his or her life and there is no need for a savior because Heaven and Hell probably do not exist. As I see the world, the majority of the population believes in some kind of religion. The places I frequent are mostly Christian locations where a significant part of the population are at least nominal Christians. Thus when I write, I strive to have some characters who are Christian. I strive to have the religious characteristics of characters in my books proportional to what is observed in the population of that location. Thus while some characters will be atheists and agnostics. There will be a number of people who identify with a church. Their level of faith will vary, but at least a few characters are Christian in the way the live. When I write of a Muslim region, I recruit Muslim characters and do my best to give them a Muslim outlook, but you can be sure there will be at least one Christian character in the manuscript.

In this blog, I intend to write about some of the places and events that have inspired me to write, and of some of the people who have stimulated the growth of characters in my imagination. I may even upload a sample or two of my work.

Please visit me now and then.

Reynold J. Conger

About Reynold Conger

Reynold Conger is a retired scientist, engineer and teacher. Now writing fiction. His books are CHASED ACROSS AUSTRALIA, MY KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOR and REDUCING MEDICAL COSTS (AT THE COST OF HEALTH). He has also started a series of novelas called THE RICHARD TRACY SERIES. Residence: New Mexico, USA Hobbies: gardening, animals and running. website www.ReynoldConger.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

